Summary
APITemplate.io does a lot in one product. It has a visual editor and an HTML editor, and it lists connectors for Zapier, Make, n8n and Airtable. For a team that wants to design by clicking and connect without code, it is a sensible default.
People compare it with other tools for a handful of concrete reasons: plan limits, template caps, the jump between plans, or documents that run many pages. Below are five alternatives, each with its best use, its price at 1,000 documents a month, one strength and one weakness.
Prices side by side
The cheapest monthly plan that includes each volume, from each vendor's public pricing page (checked October 2026, before tax). Where a vendor sells extra documents on a smaller plan, that can cost less than the plan shown; the text below works it out where it matters. CastPDF counts one PDF per document, whatever its page count.
| PDFs a month | CastPDF | APITemplate.io | PDFMonkey | CraftMyPDF | PDFShift | DocRaptor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | $19 (Starter) | $24 (PDF Basic) | €15 (Pro) | $29 (Lite) | $24 (Boost) | $75 (Premium) |
| 10,000 | $49 (Growth) | $89 (PDF Standard) | €300 (Premium) | $99 (Professional) | $99 (Business) | $399 (Bronze) |
| 50,000 | $129 (Pro) | Custom price | €300 (Premium) | $499 (Business) | $149 (Shift 50k) | Custom price |
| Free plan | 100 PDFs a month | 50 PDFs a month and 3 templates | 20 documents a month; the free plan cannot load external images, fonts or CSS | 50 PDFs a month and 3 templates | 50 credits a month | 5 documents a month, plus unlimited watermarked test documents |
PDFMonkey: prices are in euros, as its pricing page shows them.
PDFShift: One credit is one document per 5 MB of output.
Why people compare APITemplate.io with other tools
All of these points come from APITemplate.io’s own pricing page. They are not flaws for everyone; they matter only if they match how you work.
- No listed overage. At the limit you get alerts at 80% and 100%, then you upgrade by hand. Teams with spiky volume may prefer a tool that keeps going at a known price.
- Big steps between plans. PDF Basic includes 3,000 documents for $24 and PDF Standard includes 12,000 for $89. If you need 4,000, you pay for 12,000.
- Template caps. The free plan allows 3 templates and Basic allows 20. Agencies and multi-brand businesses can reach that quickly.
- A ceiling on listed plans. The largest listed plan, PDF Enterprise, covers 25,000 documents a month for $179.
- Long documents. Repeating table headers and page numbers are not described on the pricing page, so test them with your own multi-page document.
If your volume is steady, your documents are short and your designer loves the visual editor, none of this may matter. In that case the cost of moving is likely higher than the gain. The list below is for the cases where one of these points really hurts.
How we ordered the list
The five options are sorted by the lowest price that covers 1,000 documents a month, cheapest first. One vendor prices in euros and the others in dollars, so close prices are roughly equal. Price is only one criterion, which is why each entry also names a strength and a weakness.
Price at 1,000 is a useful yardstick because it is where many small businesses start: a month of invoices, receipts or certificates. If your volume is ten times that, read the section on volume between plans as well, because the order changes as volume grows.
CastPDF is our product. It lands second on this measure. We compared public pricing pages and documentation only, and did not render documents in the other tools. The sources table at the end links every page, with the date we checked it.
The five alternatives
1. PDFMonkey
- Best for: small, steady volumes of documents from an HTML and Liquid template.
- Price at 1,000 documents: about €10. That is the €5 Starter plan with 300 documents, plus one Boost pack of 1,000 for €5.
- Strength: the lowest entry price in this group, and connectors for Zapier, Make, n8n, Workato, Bubble and Glide.
- Weakness: no visual editor, and the free plan cannot load external images, fonts or CSS.
2. CastPDF
- Best for: developers with multi-page documents, or with volume that rises and falls from month to month.
- Price at 1,000 documents: $19 on Starter, which includes 2,500.
- Strength: past the plan limit, PDFs continue at $9.00 per 1,000 on Starter (less on bigger plans), up to a spending cap you set. Print mode handles repeating headers and page numbers.
- Weakness: no visual editor and no ready-made connectors for automation tools yet. Layouts are written in HTML and CSS.
3. PDFShift
- Best for: developers who already render HTML in their app and need a fast converter at high volume.
- Price at 1,000 documents: $24 on Boost, with 2,500 credits.
- Strength: a Chromium engine and plans up to 250,000 credits a month, with extra credits as cheap as $15 per 1,000 on Shift 50k.
- Weakness: no templates or editor at all; one credit covers a document per 5 MB of output, so large files cost more.
4. CraftMyPDF
- Best for: people who want to design every document on a drag-and-drop canvas.
- Price at 1,000 documents: $29 on Lite, which includes 1,200.
- Strength: drag-and-drop design, with Zapier, Make and Bubble connectors on every plan and up to 10,000 templates on Business.
- Weakness: Lite allows 6 templates, and credits reset each month without rolling over.
5. DocRaptor
- Best for: complex print layouts and documents that must meet accessibility standards.
- Price at 1,000 documents: $75 on Premium, which includes 1,250.
- Strength: built on Prince, a commercial engine made for print layout, with tagging aimed at WCAG 2.0, Section 508 and PDF/UA.
- Weakness: the most expensive per document here, and its rates for extra documents are not published on the signup page.
All five at a glance
| Price at 1,000 a month | How you design | Past the plan limit | Ready-made connectors | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| APITemplate.io (for reference) | $24 (PDF Basic) | Visual editor and HTML editor | No overage listed; upgrade by hand | Zapier, Make, n8n, Airtable |
| PDFMonkey | About €10 (Starter plus a Boost pack) | HTML and CSS with Liquid | Pay-as-you-go or Boost packs | Zapier, Make, n8n, Workato, Bubble, Glide |
| CastPDF | $19 (Starter) | HTML and CSS with Liquid, live preview | Overage per 1,000 up to a spending cap | None yet; HTTP request |
| PDFShift | $24 (Boost) | No templates: send HTML or a URL | Extra credits, $40 to $15 per 1,000 | Not stated in our sources |
| CraftMyPDF | $29 (Lite) | Drag and drop | Alerts at 80% and 100%; overage not stated | Zapier, Make, Bubble |
| DocRaptor | $75 (Premium) | Send HTML | Per-document price tied to the plan | Not stated in our sources |
The cost of volume that sits between two plans
Real volume rarely matches a plan size. Here is what 5,000 documents a month costs, a number that sits between APITemplate.io’s Basic and Standard plans.
- APITemplate.io: PDF Standard at $89, since no overage is listed.
- CastPDF: Starter plus 2,500 extra PDFs comes to $41.50, less than Growth at $49.
- PDFMonkey: Pro at €15 plus two Boost packs of 1,000 comes to €25.
- PDFShift: Growth includes 5,000 credits for $39.
- CraftMyPDF: Professional at $99, the first plan above 3,000.
- DocRaptor: Max includes 5,000 for $149.
At 20,000 documents the picture is similar. APITemplate.io needs PDF Enterprise at $179. CastPDF Growth plus 10,000 extra comes to $109, and Pro at $129 includes 50,000. Every CastPDF plan and rate is on the pricing page.
Four questions that settle the choice
- Who edits the layout? If nobody on the team writes HTML, stay with a visual tool such as APITemplate.io or CraftMyPDF. A code-based tool will frustrate them.
- Do you need a ready-made connector? If your workflow lives in an automation tool and you do not want to set up an HTTP request, choose a vendor that lists one.
- How long are your documents? For one-page receipts, almost any engine works. For statements and reports that run many pages, test repeating headers and page numbers first.
- How spiky is your volume? Steady volume suits fixed plans. Volume that jumps at month end suits overage with a cap, or rollover of unused documents.
Moving from APITemplate.io to CastPDF
Most of the work is in the template. Templates made in the HTML editor carry over: copy the markup, then rewrite the placeholders as Liquid fields such as {{ supplier.name }} and repeating rows as {% for line in lines %} loops. Visually built templates need rebuilding in HTML; one of the six starters is a good base. Free and test keys let you do all of this before paying.
Your app then needs one request per document. Here is a purchase order in Python, using the standard requests library. The quickstart shows the same call in other languages.
import os
import requests
order = {
"number": "PO-5531",
"supplier": {"name": "Kestrel Paper Co"},
"lines": [
{"sku": "A4-80", "qty": 40, "unit_price": 6.2},
{"sku": "ENV-C5", "qty": 15, "unit_price": 11.9},
],
}
response = requests.post(
"https://api.castpdf.com/v1/pdf",
headers={
"Authorization": f"Bearer {os.environ['CASTPDF_API_KEY']}",
"Idempotency-Key": f"po-{order['number']}",
},
json={
"template_id": os.environ["PO_TEMPLATE_ID"],
"data": order,
"filename": f"{order['number']}.pdf",
},
timeout=60,
)
if response.status_code == 402:
# plan_limit_reached or spending_cap_reached: the message says which
print(response.json()["error"]["message"])
response.raise_for_status()
with open(f"{order['number']}.pdf", "wb") as f:
f.write(response.content)For a long purchase order, put the header row in a <thead> and print mode repeats it on every page; the guide to repeating table headers shows the markup. Start on the Free plan with 100 documents a month.
Sources
Every fact about another product on this page comes from that product's own pages, checked October 2026. CastPDF's prices and limits come from our pricing page.
| APITemplate.io | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 50 PDFs a month and 3 templates | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| Templates | 20 (Basic), 180 (Standard), unlimited (Enterprise) | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| Yearly billing | About 20% off: $19, $69 and $139 a month | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| At the limit | No overage price is listed; alerts at 80% and 100%, and you upgrade by hand | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| Editors | A visual (WYSIWYG) editor and an HTML editor | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| Connectors | REST API, Zapier, Make (Integromat), n8n and Airtable | apitemplate.io/pricing |
| PDFMonkey | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 20 documents a month; the free plan cannot load external images, fonts or CSS | pdfmonkey.io/pricing |
| Trial | 30 days with 300 documents, no card | pdfmonkey.io/pricing |
| Extra documents | Optional pay-as-you-go from €0.008 down to €0.005 a document, or Boost packs at €5 per 1,000 | pdfmonkey.io/pricing |
| Storage of documents | 1 day (Starter), 7 days (Pro), unlimited from Pro+ | pdfmonkey.io/pricing |
| Yearly billing | 10% off | pdfmonkey.io/pricing |
| Template language | HTML and CSS with Liquid | pdfmonkey.io/docs |
| Connectors | Zapier, Make, n8n, Workato, Bubble and Glide, plus Ruby and Node.js libraries | pdfmonkey.io/docs |
| CraftMyPDF | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 50 PDFs a month and 3 templates | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| Templates | 6 (Lite), 15 (Plus), 50 (Professional), 1,000 (Premium), 10,000 (Business) | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| Yearly billing | 10 times the monthly price (about 17% off) | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| Usage alerts | Emails at 80% and 100%; credits reset each month and do not roll over | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| Editor | Drag and drop | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| Connectors | REST API, Zapier, Make and Bubble, on every plan | craftmypdf.com/pricing |
| PDFShift | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 50 credits a month | pdfshift.io/pricing |
| How usage counts | One credit per document, counted per 5 MB of output | pdfshift.io/pricing |
| Extra credits | From $40 per 1,000 (Starter) down to $15 per 1,000 (Shift 50k) | pdfshift.io/pricing |
| Engine | Chromium | pdfshift.io |
| Templates | None: you send finished HTML or a URL | pdfshift.io/pricing |
| DocRaptor | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 5 documents a month, plus unlimited watermarked test documents | docraptor.com/signup |
| Extra documents | A per-document price tied to your plan (the rates are not on the page) | docraptor.com/signup |
| Above 40,000 a month | Enterprise, custom price | docraptor.com/signup |
| Engine | Prince, a commercial engine made for print layout | docraptor.com |
| Accessibility | Automatic and CSS-based tagging, aimed at WCAG 2.0, Section 508 and PDF/UA | docraptor.com |
| JavaScript | Runs JavaScript through Prince, with several layout passes | docraptor.com |